top of page
  • Kaitlin Waldera

Why Fibers?


Why fibers?

I've started working more with fibers rather than printmaking for a couple of reasons. First of all, fiber art doesn't take up as much of my already limited space. I alternate between embroidering by hand with just a needle and tread and embroidering with my sewing machine (you can do this with most sewing machines, you just have to check if you can lower the feeding mechanism that draws your material back as you sew and exchange your sewing foot for an embroidery foot). Embroidering by hand is also more mobile then printing. I often have "art nights" with my friends and fibers projects are easier to bring over to someones house and do not require a lot of clean up.

The second reason I have started working more with fibers is because it is easier to put "please touch" signs by my work. I've wanted to make my work more interactive to help get rid of the barrier between medicine and the general public. I've found texture is the best way of doing this so far.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page