top of page
  • Kaitlin Waldera

What Keeps You Up At Night? RESULTS


In my last show at St. Mary's College in Winona, I had a piece called What Keeps You Up At Night? I asked the viewer to write down a fear, a worry, a bad dream; in other words something that keeps them up at night. These are the results:

  • Normal/typical Fears

  • Spiders

  • Spiders

  • I am terrified by bugs

  • Bugs in my room, life a spider crawling on face in the middle of the night

  • Getting eaten by a shark

  • Bats getting in the house

  • Drop down from the top of a building

  • Bad dream

  • Ghosts

  • Monsters

  • The fire alarm

  • Snakes

  • snakes

  • Did I lock my door?

  • Public speaking

  • Monsters a taking me

  • The Boneman

  • Shadows

  • Adults who bully

  • Bullies

  • drowning/being trapped underwater and not being able to breathe

  • Drowning

  • My fear that keeps me up at night is drowning

  • Sometimes the dark

  • I am afraid of iceburgs because of the unknown

  • Closed spaces or being stuck. My thoughts

  • Zombies

  • Night mares!

  • Really scary vids before bedtime

  • Fears

  • Parking structures

  • Lynx attack

  • Mental - Anxiety, depression, overthinking

  • Awkward encounters with people

  • Anxiety and school stress, headaches

  • Anxiety

  • A rough day overthinking about it

  • Being so paralyzed in life that you do nothing.

  • Being trapped in my body

  • If I don’t exercise during the day, I worry

  • Worries

  • Worries

  • I have GAD, so everything forms into a ball of yarn tangles that I can’t unweave. I’ve even cried over a spoon I couldn’t clean b/c I was too sick.

  • Too much on my mind

  • Stress

  • General anxiety

  • Love/loneliness

  • A fear of being alone & unloved

  • Being alone

  • Love

  • Love

  • Being loved

  • happiness

  • Fear of abandonment

  • Loneliness

  • Being alone

  • Being vulnerable to others

  • Dying alone

  • Being alone

  • Not being accepted or loved

  • Acceptance

  • Being completely and utterly ALONE

  • Being alone

  • *drawing of a heart*

  • Being alone

  • Being lonely

  • Fear of love

  • That maybe I’ll never “find” someone

  • Ex-wife

  • What if no one will love me?

  • Broken love

  • Being forgotten

  • Future

  • Stress about the future and what our planet will look like years to come -KB

  • Not knowing what the future holds for me…

  • Future career plans

  • The future

  • Living

  • Life

  • Not getting a job after graduation

  • Unknown of the next day

  • Not becoming my dream

  • Money

  • money

  • Money problems

  • Being without money & heights

  • Financial needs. Not having enough money

  • Bankrupt

  • Never finding my life’s purpose

  • I fear I won’t find an ambition in life

  • I worry about my impending future. That definitely keeps me up at night

  • School/Work

  • Failing out of school…

  • Missing morning classes

  • The fear of missing my alarm in the morning

  • I’m worried about an exam

  • school

  • College

  • Student debt

  • loans

  • Paying for school & my education

  • Class papers

  • classes

  • School homework

  • Fear of doing bad in school

  • Failing school and disappointing my mom

  • Grades

  • Work

  • My job

  • That I am not smart enough to be a doctor

  • Life after college

  • Getting my 6th grade boys in reading class - to love reading!

  • Grad school

  • Failure

  • The fear that I think I am a failure & that I am not good enough

  • Failure

  • Failure

  • Failure

  • Failure

  • Failure

  • Fear of failure!

  • Fear of failure

  • Failing or messing up

  • Failure in life

  • The fear of failure or losing people close to me

  • Not becoming who I want to be

  • Not achieving my dream to be a teacher

  • That whatever I end up doing with my life I will fail at

  • Not being successful or amount to anything when I “grow up” & losing close ones

  • I’ll never be more than mediocre at anything I do.

  • Not being good enough…

  • Not being good enough

  • That I’m not good enough...

  • Not being good enough in academics, sports, relationships, life

  • Failing to accomplish what I want in life. Losing my family.

  • Disappointing people

  • Disappointing otheres

  • The fear that I’m not doing enough for the people I love

  • Letting down my friends

  • I’m afraid of disappointing me people around me

  • Fear of failing or disappointing someone

  • Being disappointing

  • A fear that keeps me up at night is failure. I’m that everything I do I might fail on it and that my life would have no meaning

  • Will I succeed? Fear of not being loved & achieving

  • Family well-being

  • The well-being of my family

  • Ageing family members

  • Losing someone I love

  • Lose lover

  • I worry she will feel guilty if she quits her job - I don’t want her to feel guilty

  • What if I hurt someone I love when I die early

  • Raising a family

  • Not having children

  • My father dying before Christmas from his cancer

  • My daughter’s safety - health, accident, trauma

  • I worry about my daughter’s kidney health - she works such long hours

  • Grandpa’s wise words

  • My daughter

  • Abduction of a loved one

  • Seeing my mother be anxious about my Dad’s health

  • Something happening to my parents while I am away

  • I worry my daughter’s financial status in the future after her divorce

  • Of my mom and dad to die

  • Waiting for my 17 yr old to come home in an Uber ride

  • Family staying Safe

  • Family happiness

  • My ability or inability to get healthy & lose wight and providing for my family xoxo

  • Losing my mom in walmart

  • GRandma and GRandpa’s health

  • That Nathan will get hurt

  • Worries about my son.

  • The fact that I can’t tell my family I’m gay.

  • I’m still in the closet

  • My daughters well being

  • That my girls will be OK in this world

  • Illness

  • Getting breast cancer or any cancer

  • Will I forget how to paint?

  • Health concerns from poor life decisions

  • Fear of bad health

  • I) Tick born illnesses ex. Lymes II) moldy neurotoXins

  • Lung cancer

  • Lung cancer

  • Love/Sex/Drugs/rape

  • If I actually have an STD

  • AIDS

  • Getting a girl pregnant

  • Is my girlfriend pregnant?

  • Bob’s sex noises

  • Dan snoring

  • Peepee small

  • PeePee not get big

  • My drug addiction

  • Drugs

  • Caffeine

  • Food

  • stimulants...Stem-u-lents lol

  • Men

  • Sex-trafficking/being kidnapped/not being able to protect myself

  • Being raped…

  • Sleepovers with my uncle when I was 4 years old

  • My father making me have a relationship with the woman he cheated on my mom with

  • Death

  • Death

  • death

  • dying

  • The end

  • Fear of hell

  • Me or a loved one dying

  • Burning alive

  • I get scared someone is watching me and or it I make a noise they’ll kill me at night in my bed

  • Life after death

  • Religion

  • Not being the man that God called me to be.

  • Not doing what God is asking me to do, failing expectations

  • Counting blessings instead of sheep

  • Politics

  • The Soviet Union’s inevitable uprising

  • 9/11 again

  • Nuclear war/Sarah Palin

  • The court system

  • Not totally sure where these belong

  • April 25 2017

  • Abuse that gift and turn

  • Andrew’s greasy pigeon face

  • Sometimes it’s worrying about my kids. Mostly, it’s because I’m going through my change. Also, owning a business can be a factor.

  • Ryan Charko

  • Ryan Charko

  • Bive Ballz

  • Can’t read that one

  • What is in Jordos backpack

  • The image of Sonic the Hedgehog furry-fan-fiction while playing “Take on Me” by Ah-ha in the background, while eating Daniel Radcliffe's delicious asshole.

  • Something written in another language

  • Nothing, I keep other people up at night

  • *drawing of a smiley face*

  • Daddy Cho

  • I hope my mom sends cookies

  • Chad? Brad? Gabe? Alex? Not knowing who is going to win the bachelor

  • Blair *sad face* (a person)

  • Wabalablalbula

  • Gutan tag!

  • Help me

  • To be honest I sleep good. Maybe my fear is to not have one

  • Fear of Cam

  • Hola

  • Tim Gleason

  • My dog Bill <3


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page