top of page
  • Kaitlin Waldera

Pin Cushions for Finger Tips


IT IS DONE...except presentation-wise. I started this embroidery not long after graduating I think...maybe longer. It was something to do to fill time. Now I just have to figure out how to display the damn thing. Over the weekend I was determined to fill my non-work-because-of-Capitalism-days, also known as the weekend, with art. I made two vats for dye (one more promising then the other). While the fabric sat to soak, dry, and wash I was working on this beauty. Usually I would embroider a few strands of thread or until my fingers hurt. But not this time. I kept going. And going. And going. The area needing to be filled just kept getting smaller. The smaller it got the more I wanted to finish it. Needless to say, my fingers are a bit sore. Had to use a pliers in some areas that were more dense. So, by the end of it all my pointer finger and thumb were swollen and red...then I attended to my indigo dye...then they were swollen and blue.

For those of you not familiar with my previous embroidery, this one is quite similar. Instead of cool tones, I used warm ones. And on the outermost edges of the oval I free-hand embroidered with my sewing machine. At least that part went a bit quicker...but overall this time around it took longer because I did not have a deadline for class. The image, abstract as it is, is a mammogram I manipulated in Photoshop. The white "butterfly" represent the tumor. When I was making the first embroidery, I used this silk to try and figure out how I wanted to present the tumor. First I tried applying silicone to the silk but ended up removing it. This left a thin film of silicone on the surface which I used for this piece. The original one I ended up using glass beads to create a small bump.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page