top of page
  • Kaitlin Waldera

A Week of Firsts


Jan 10th, 2018:

I started a "real" job on the 8th of January. I feel like I have to wait until the probation period is over before I check off "get an adult job" on my bucket list. Yes, I have a bucket list, and yes that is in there. (Make a grilled cheese with an iron is also in there. If you haven't watched Benny and June you need to! Message me, and I'd even watch it with you.) Anyway, the point of this post is to say: I am determined not to let my job get in the way of making art. Since graduating, I filled one notebook in about a month doing a drawing every day until the notebook was full. Then I filled another...That one...I didn't draw everyday and I was miserable and it took a few months. As of the first of January I have started drawing everyday again. Now I just have to get into the habit of doing more then that. The goal for this weekend: plug in my sewing machine and start embroidering something for the paintings I started this summer.

March 5th, 2018:

I have gotten through the 90 days of my probationary period at work and the doodling has continued! Every now and then I do skip a day; however, I always make it up if I miss one. Not every day is pretty. Sometimes no matter how hard you try it doesn't work out. Some days, the frustrating days, get out the crayons and scribble until your hands hurt. Scribble until there is so much wax on the page that it will not take anymore color. Things not going as planned? Cut. It. Out. Grab your exacto blades and try something new by creating a drawing that interact on multiple pages by cutting out the negative space. Above is several...well quite a few...of my doodles...I wanna go big with a few of these.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page