top of page
  • Kaitlin Waldera

Things are coming along nicely


I started these projects bouncing off of one of the pieces I did for the senior show...but the main reason I did them was to use up the framing supplies left laying around the house. On one side of the glass an acrylic wash is applied with either a paint brush or syringe, over and over, letting each layer dry before adding the next. This part takes a while. Once I am happy with the layered info I flip over the glass and use an old calligraphy pen and white ink and doodle around the blobs of paint. I just framed "Surface Tension" and am finishing up the next piece (with the black and blue washes). Additionally, my orange one is proving to be a bit problematic. Instead of using two pieces of painted glass plus a clean piece to protect the outer layer, I painted on four pieces...four pieces of glass barely fit into the frame and there is no room for a mat. Ideally, I wouldn't even want to use a mat, but without one you can see the little springs that hold everything nice and snug to prevent the glass from shifting.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page